University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA) School of Law

University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA) School of Law
Law Admissions Office, 71 Dodd Hall, Box 951445, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1445, USA
Phone: 310.825.2080
Email: admissions@law.ucla.edu | Website: law.ucla.edu

 

Does your law school have a nondiscrimination policy that prohibits discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation?

UCLA non-discrimination policy

Does your law school have a nondiscrimination policy that prohibits discrimination on the basis of gender identity?

UCLA non-discrimination policy

Does your law school provide gender-neutral restrooms?

Yes

Does your law school have a lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender student organization?

OUTLaw plans and sponsors numerous social activities, ranging from nights out in West Hollywood to community lunches at the law school. A welcome-weekend BBQ is traditionally held to allow new students to meet and interact with returning LGBT students. OUTLaw also sponsors educational activities, such as panel discussions about current legal issues or court cases affecting the LGBT population. UCLA Law enrolls a number of LGBT students each year, who find ample opportunities for involvement and leadership within and beyond the LGBT community.

Does your school have any openly lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender faculty members?

Tendayi Achiume
Email: achiume@law.ucla.edu

Michael Gottfried
Email: gottfried@law.ucla.edu

Tracey Parr
Email: parr@law.ucla.edu 

Eileen Scallen
Email: scallen@law.ucla.edu

Alicia Virani
Email: virani@law.ucla.edu

Will Watts
Email: watts@law.ucla.edu

Bianca Wilson
Email: wilsonb@law.ucla.edu

Does your school have any openly lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender administrators?

Jamie Libonate
Email: libonate@law.ucla.edu

Robert Schwartz
Email: schwartzr@law.ucla.edu

Brad Sears
Email: sears@law.ucla.edu

Akiesha Anderson
Email: andersona@law.ucla.edu

Minerva Esquivel Gopar
Email: gopar@law.ucla.edu

Yossi Held
Email: held@law.ucla.edu

Anthony Escobar
Email: escobar@law.ucla.edu

Does your law school offer any academic courses primarily focused on lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender legal issues?

Law and Sexuality; Human Rights and Sexual Politics; Intersectionalities: Theorizing Multiple Discrimination, Identity, and Power; and others. In addition, UCLA Law is home to the Williams Institute which is the nation’s leading think tank on LGBTQ+ law and policy.

Does your law school offer the same benefits to faculty, staff, or student same-sex spouses as they do opposite-sex spouses?

The University of California began offering health coverage to same-sex partners of faculty and staff in 1998, and added pension survivor benefits in 2002. The university offers domestic partners many health and welfare benefits, including medical, dental, vision, legal, dependent life, and accidental death and dismemberment insurance. 

Does your law school offer any form of domestic-partner benefits to faculty, staff, or students?

The University of California began offering health coverage to same-sex partners of faculty and staff in 1998, and added pension survivor benefits in 2002. The university offers domestic partners many health and welfare benefits, including medical, dental, vision, legal, dependent life, and accidental death and dismemberment insurance.

Additional Information

UCLA Law is an open and affirming environment for LGBTQ+ students! Our LGBTQ+ student group OUTLaw is one of the most active student organizations on campus. Prospective students that feel comfortable disclosing their sexual orientation or gender identity within their application should feel encouraged to—especially since OUTLaw does a big welcome ceremony for those matriculants before school starts each year! In addition, several OUTLaw members have begun talks about creating an additional student organization for LGBTQ+ students of color.

Our students have the opportunity to learn about LGBTQ+ topics in classes such as Law and Sexuality; LGBT Law and Policy; Human Rights and Sexual Politics; Intersectionalities: Theorizing Multiple Discrimination, Identity, and Power; and others. In addition, UCLA Law is home to both the Williams Institute which is the nation’s leading think tank on LGBTQ+ law and policy. It is also home to an annual moot court competition which is the only national moot court competition dedicated exclusively to the areas of sexual orientation and gender identity law.

UCLA has gender inclusive bathrooms across campus, and in Spring 2019, UCLA Law will become one of the first graduate schools in the nation to have a multi-stall gender-inclusive bathroom. In addition, with a LGBTQ+ Resource Center on campus, numerous “out” staff and faculty members, a thriving Los Angeles LGBTQ+ legal/bar association, and regular diversity/networking events hosted by big law firms (looking to recruit LGBTQ+ students), our students traditionally find that UCLA has a warm and welcoming climate. Lastly, because we are committed to pioneering inclusivity on campus, UCLA Law also has a LGBTQ+ focus group that meets with the Dean of Student Affairs several times a semester to discuss ways to improve upon these efforts.